Working Mom to Homemaker

Embracing The Change

ABC Mouse

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

 

When I had my son, Jared, I took 12 weeks maternity leave before going back to work, and that’s when he started going to a babysitter 5 days a week. When I had Alexis in May, nearly 3 years later, I quit working. But we figured that it would be best for Jared to allow him to continue going to his sitters house 3 days a week. He’s a very social boy and loves to be around other kids and people. My husband and I thought that he would be bored and go stir crazy if he went from going to a babysitters 5 days a week for 2.5 years to staying home with me and a baby all the time. This was the best decision our family made. Alexis gets 3 days of peace and quiet and she takes her naps better those 3 days. I can get more of my chores done on those days so I don’t have as much to do when Jared is home.

Anyways, we wanted to send Jared to a pre-school in our little town before he started Kindergarten, but we weren’t too sure when we should start him. I knew I wanted him to be potty trained first, but at that time, I wasn’t sure when that would be. When Jared was a little over 2 years old, my husband saw an advertisement for abcmouse.com We did a free trial with Jared and he absolutely loved it, so we bought a subscription.

ABC MOUSE is an online pre-school. I had always and still do worry about whether Jared will be able to handle the school environment because of his constant high energy level and lack of listening. I was pleased to see that he could actually focus and listen for the 30 minutes we would sit down together and work on the activities in the website.  This site is also great for toddlers, like Jared, that need to be challenged. Now that he’s older, he can work the computer mouse on his own and get a lot more out of it. He truly has learned a lot from it. And now that he’s potty trained, next fall he will be starting real pre-school. Whenever we sit down to work on his “virtual pre-school,” I tell him, “Next year, you’re going to go to a classroom like this and have a teacher and other kids to do these activities with.” He seems excited about it.

December 5, 2012 - Posted by | ALL THINGS KIDS

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

