Working Mom to Homemaker

Embracing The Change

Toy Jail

SAMSUNG

When Jared was a little over a year old we introduced him to the Time Out stool. We used Super-nanny’s Time Out Technique, and it didn’t take very long at all for Jared to figure it out. He actually took to Time Out very well…until he was about 2 – 2.5 years old. Then it just turned into a game for him and it wasn’t working. We had to think of something else for this Toddler deep into the Terrible Two’s. We tried everything. Then while he was at his 3 year doctor visit, his pediatrician suggested taking his most favorite toy or possession away for a few days. I went home and started turning my wheels…

Then the idea of Toy Jail came to me. I figured Jared is the type that would need a visual reminder of his consequences. I found an old box in our basement, folded in the top flaps and found some wrapping paper lying around. I wrapped the box and wrote the Rules on some construction paper to stick to the front of the box.

When it was all finished I brought it out to show Jared and explain it to him. He was really excited when he saw the bright-colored box. I told him as simplistically as possible that if he broke any of the rules listed, He’d get a toy taken away. I pointed to each rule and told him what it was and asked him to repeat it. Then I asked him if he could tell me what the rules were, all by himself. It was a little game for him just learning this new concept and he did very well.

I’ll be honest, since we’re not perfect parents, there have been times that we’ve forgotten about a toy for longer or we haven’t used his most favorite toy as the victim, but when we use it correctly, it works….for now. 😉

December 5, 2012 - Posted by | ALL THINGS KIDS

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

