Working Mom to Homemaker

Embracing The Change

CrockPot Bacon Wrapped Cornish Game Hens

20130115_08285520130115_153049

My 18th Birthday fell on Thanksgiving day and I don’t like cake. I had the idea to have my mom make my own mini turkey and I’d put candles in it. (Yeah, I was a weird one) Anyway, my mom told me about Cornish Hens and that’s what she would make me for my 18th Birthday. ūüôā Just this past Thanksgiving, my mom was talking about how she felt bad for not being able to do much for my birthday. Since my mind revolves around food 80% of the time, I told her she could make me another one of those Hens for my birthday. She bought two of the Cornish Hens, but we both forgot all about them and they remained in her freezer until a few days ago.

I decided I’d get on the trusty Pinterest to see how to cook these mini bad boys, since it would be a first for me. Perfectly enough, I found a¬†crock-pot¬†recipe that needed some¬†ingredients¬†I already owned. The original recipe talks about using a specific kind of bacon and scraping off fat from the hens. I just used our regular old bacon and didn’t do anything as far as scraping fat. So here is my review of this recipe:

VERY DELICIOUS! It cooked all day and smelled amazing. When it was time to serve it up, I could barely get them out of the crock-pot without the meat falling off the bone. I will definitely make these again and I highly recommend it!

Pinterest Link

The Ingredients:

–2¬†cornish¬†game hens, thawed
–6 slices of bacon¬†*¬†(if you are gluten-free, always check labels thrice, and do your own research.)
–1 tsp kosher salt
–1 tsp thyme
–1 tsp rosemary

The Directions.

I used a 6 quart crock pot; the little birds nestled in nicely.

I did skin the birds; there was no where near as much fat and skin as is on a regular chicken, but I took off as much as I could with poultry shears.

In a small bowl, mix your dry spices. Rub the spice mixture all over the birds, inside and out. Lower the birds into the crock pot. I thought I had put them both breast-side down, but I think only one actually was. Take your strips of bacon, and wrap two one way and one the other on each bird. See if you can tuck an end inside of the cavity.

Cover the crock pot and cook on low for 6-8 hours, or on high for 4-5. I cooked ours on low for 4 hours, and then switched it to high for the last hour.

Discard the bacon before serving.

JOB OPPORTUNITY

SUCCESS SYSTEM

January 15, 2013 - Posted by | Main Dishes

4 Comments »

  1. Did you add water? How much? Is it ok to put more than 2 in the Crockpot (preparing large party)?

    Comment by Sandi | November 3, 2013 | Reply

    • I did not add water but I don’t think it would hurt to add just enough to cover the bottom of the crockpot. I also don’t see a problem with putting 2 in the crockpot. When I made this the first time I had a smaller crockpot than I do now. ūüôā

      Comment by Dani | November 3, 2013 | Reply

  2. I think this was a great start for cornish game hens. I decided to keep the skin on and used a nice dry rub on the outside and inside of the hen. I then wrapped them in 8 slices of bacon (my hens were a little larger) than used tooth picks to secure them down. I actually then removed the hens about one hour before the recipe called for and placed them in the oven at 450 for 20 minutes to ensure the bacon was nice and crispy! Amazing recipe!

    Comment by Darrell | July 3, 2015 | Reply

  3. […] NOT look easy. ¬†Then I got the bright idea to add crockpot into my search ūüôā and came across this recipe. ¬†Who wouldn’t want cornish hens that were cooked while wrapped in bacon. ¬†It was so […]

    Pingback by Cooking dinner for my Momma | The Beautiful and Awkward Life | October 1, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

