Working Mom to Homemaker

Embracing The Change

Pepper Steak with White Rice

(134)

I found this recipe because we had received a generous gift of large amounts of different cuts of beef. I was already familiar with the roasts, T-Bone, Sirloin and Rib-eye steaks, but when it came to cube steaks and round steaks, I had no clue what to make with those. I came across this recipe with the impression that my husband and kids probably wouldn’t like it, but I would love it. I’m a huge steak fan, but my husband is not. (I find this odd) Anyway, I gave this recipe a try one night and he’s been asking me to make it again ever since. My 2 year old and 5 year old also loved it! 

ACTUAL PINTEREST LINK

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 lb round steak
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 2 tomatoes chopped
  • 2 green peppers cut in strips
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1 1/4 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup beef bouillon dissolved in water (or beef broth)
  • 2 TB cornstarch

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Cut meat across the grain into strips. Brown meat in a large sauce pan with the garlic.
  2. Stir in the tomatoes and the peppers. Add soy sauce, peppers, sugar, ginger and 3/4 cup of bouillon. Cover and cook for 20 minutes.
  3. Blend cornstarch with remaining bouillon. Stir this into the meat mixture. Bring to a boil and simmer for two minutes, stirring constantly.
  4. Serve over hot rice.

I decided to go with a Parmesan theme for my sides for this dish and made ROASTED GARLIC PARMESAN BROCCOLI and ROASTED PARMESAN POTATOES. I found them to be an amazing addition to this dish.

August 18, 2014 - Posted by | Main Dishes

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

